Colgate University Libraries
connect ˜ discover ˜ create
SOAN 453 - Selected Media Resources (for content analysis)
Access World News - International Edition
Coverage: varies by title. Access World News provides full-text information and perspectives from over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. This title does not include U.S. news.
LexisNexis Academic
Coverage: varies, generally 1980s--A multi-disciplinary database, with especially strong news, business and legal material.
Americ's Newspapers
Coverage: 1980-present. Includes the Syracuse Post Standard, Observer Dispatch (Utica), Rochester Democrat and Chronicle and other regional newspapers
Newspaper Source
Coverage: varies. Provides selected full text for national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for some regional (U.S.) newspapers.
New York State Newspapers
1980 + A set of 28 New York State newspapers available in full-text provide by NOVEL. - New York Online Virtual Electronic Library - provided by the New York State Library. Note: Provided as part of the NYS NOVEL databases
New York Times -Proquest Historical Newspapers
1851 - 3 years ago. This database offers full-text and full-image articles for New York Times dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Coverage: 1960-present. A database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Colgate and Local Hamilton Newspapers
For access to Colgate student newspapers and other materials, check with Francesca Livermore, Case Library, Level 2 (available during business hours only),
Images
American Memory Project
These still and moving images, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
AP Images
Coverage: 1840-present. The photo archive for the Associated Press has over 500, 000 images dating from 1844 to the present and covering a wide range of events and locations.
New York Public Library Digital Library
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 550,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Ohio State University Cartoon Image Database
The Cartoon Library and Museum`s digital image database contains scanned images from their collection. The collection documents American printed cartoon art, including editorial cartoons and comic strips. Some images are scanned from the original art while others are scanned from newspaper tear sheets or other printed sources.
World Bank Photo Collection
The World Bank has a distinctive collection of over 12,000 images that illustrate development through topics such as Agriculture, Education, Environment, Health, Trade and more.
Video
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world`s most extensive and complete archive of television news. They have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core of the collection consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News. Content from CNN (1995- )and NBC News (Aug. 5th 1968- ) are available as streaming video. No current material will be made available until at least 72 hours after it was originally broadcast. Compilations of other media are expensive to obtain, but may be requested by faculty and Colgate students completing a senior thesis.
Moving Image Archive
This library contains thousands of digital movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to videos of every genre uploaded by Archive users. Many of these movies are available for download.
The Open Video Project
The Open Video repository provides video clips from a variety of sources, especially various video programs obtained from U.S. government agencies such as the National Records and Archives Administration and NASA.
Web
Way Back Machine (part of the Internet Archive)
Browse through over 150 billion web pages archived from 1996 to a few months ago. To start surfing the Wayback, type in the web address of a site or page where you would like to start, and press enter. Then select from the archived dates available.
Page Created & Maintained by: Mary Jane Walsh | Last Updated: May 27, 2010 | © 2009
Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300