Colgate University | Moodle | My Colgate | Colgate Gmail | Click to go Libraries' Twitter

SELECTED LINKS TO NATIVE WEBSITES

Good General Gateways

NativeWeb Resources for Indigenous Cultures around the World

Comprehensive site for Native American issues . Strong international focus.

Native American Sites

Very well constructed award winning site maintained by Lisa Mitten a Mohawk Indian. Provides access to theweb pages of individual Native Americans and Nations, and to othe sites that provide solid information about American Indians.

Index of Native American Resources on the Internet

This site is maintained by Karen Strom. Links provided to a wide range of sources including electronic texts, museums, books, music, video, and media. Contains the archive of Native American Indian Art, Culture, Education, History, Science which was maintained by Ojibwa Paula Giese from 1994 until her death in 1997.

Fourth World Documentation Program

Produced by the Center for World Indigenous Studies, this online library of texts "records and preserves our people's struggle to regain their rightful place in the international community. Included are Tribal and Inter-Tribal resolutions and papers, treaties, United Nations documents and much more.

World Wide Web Virtual Library : Indigenous Studies

Maintained by the Center for World Indigenous Studies and the Chief George Manual Library, this is a very well organized collection of links about indigenous nations around the world.


A SELECTION OF SUBJECT SPECIFIC SITES

Art , Music, culture
Index of Native American Artists on the internet
Canadian Museum of Civilization : First Nations information & exhibits
Ganondagan State Historic Site

This site, located just southeast of Rochester, New York, documents a thriving 17th century Seneca community.

Iroquois Indian Museum
Longyear Museum of Anthropology (Colgate University)
National Museum of the American Indian
Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology
Mashantucket Pequot Museum and Research Center
Joanne Shenandoah's official web site
Ohwejagehka: Ha`degaenage

Fascinating site on Iroquois language, music, and dance. Includes descriptions of dances, sample songs, words from various Iroquois languages.


Education

Native American Studies Programs in the United States and Canada

A comprehensive survey of U.S. and Canadian Native American Studies programs being offered as majors, minors, and certifications at the baccalaureate level or above

American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC)

Good source of information about Tribal Colleges, past and present. Also contains data and reports about Native Americans and higher education in general.

Carlisle Indian Industrial School

Information provided by the Cumberland County Historical Society.

The Indian Sentinel, 1902-1962

This digital collection highlights The Indian Sentinel which featured articles about Native Americans across the United States and their evangelization by the Catholic Church. Most were first-hand accounts by lifelong missionaries in the field that were often illustrated with photographs they had taken. Also featured are articles, essays, and letters by Native Americans, many of whom were students in Catholic schools.


Environment

American Indian Environmental Office (AIEO)

The American Indian Environmental Office (AIEO) coordinates the Agency-wide effort to strengthen public health and environmental protection in Indian Country, with a special emphasis on building Tribal capacity to administer their own environmental programs. AIEO oversees development and implementation of the Agency's Indian Policy and strives to ensure that all EPA Headquarters and Regional Offices implement their parts of the Agency's Indian Program in a manner consistent with Administration policy to work with Tribes on a government-to-government basis and EPA's trust responsibility to protect Tribal health and environments.

Impacts of resource Development on Native American Lands

When development occurs on Native American lands, there are many interested parties. They include government agencies, non-governmental organizations, human rights groups, and the tribal governments themselves. This is an excellent collection of case studies that have addressed development issues on such lands and it is offered courtesy of the Science Education Resource Center (SERC) at Carleton College


New York State

Here are general sites about the Haudenosaunee.  See also entries under Art, music and culture and under History.

Ganondagan State Historic Site

Ohwejagehka: Ha

This is a nonprofit organization based on Six Nations of the Grand River in Ontario Canada that seeks to preserve and nurture the Iroquoian languages and songs.

Iroquois.net

"This site is owned by CPU Industries, Inc, d/b/a MKL.Net, Bainbridge, New York and is reserved exclusively for issues concerning Native Americans of this area. Any pages and links to this site are designed to focus on, but are not necessarily limited to history, prehistory, culture, political issues, advertising of Native American businesses." Includes useful information such as the Haudenosaunee Policy of Human Remains and False Face masks, contact information for Iroquois Councils, archaeological links, history, and current news.

Onondaga Nation

 
Oneida Indian Nation
The official web site for the Oneida (NY) Indian Nation which includes information on the Oneida culture, economic ventures, history, land claims, treaties of importance to the Haudenosaunee, sovereignty and other issues.
Land Into Trust: Oneida Indian Nation Official Web site
Oneidas for Democracy

"The Oneidas for Democracy are the Oneida People who peacefully uphold the traditional values of the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois Confederacy)."

Welcome to Peace 4 Turtle Island (Mohawk)

"This site is built on the philosophy that Peace can be obtained for all the sacred colors of mankind and harmony restored to Mother Earth when people honor and respect the original instructions that were given to each people by the Creator. This site will attempt to take a step towards providing a path towards Respect, Peace, and Gentle Harmony by providing culturally sensitive and accurate information about the Iroquois, or as we prefer to call ourselves the Haudenosaunee (People of the Longhouse). This site will also attempt to provide thought-provoking essays on a multitude of issues that face the environment, and the First Nation people."

Kanien'kehaka Onkwawén:na Raotitiohkwa

"Kanien'kehaka Onkwawén:na Raotitiohkwa was established in 1978 to preserve, promote and enrich the language and culture of the Mohawks of Kahnawake. "

Kanatsiohareke Mohawk Community
Akwesasne
Mohawk Nation Council of Chiefs
St. Regis Tribe
Mohegan Tribe
Stockbridge-Munsee Community
Seneca Nation of Indians
Tuscaroras.com (Six Nations Related Web sites)


News
Indianz.com

Published by the Ho-Chunk Nation in Wisconsin.

Indian Country Today

This is a national newspaper published by the Oneida Nation covering international indigenous issues.

News from Indian Country

Published by Indian Country Communications, Inc. an independent, Indian-owned, reservation based business located on the Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe Reservation in Northern Wisconsin. They cover national news, pow-wow dates and information on all of Indian Country. NFIC contains "the most up-to-date pow-wow directory throughout North America".

Native Networks

Onlineline information about film, video, and radio.

Native America Calling

This is a popular live call-in radio show broadcast daily by the Koahnic Broadcast Corporation in Anchorage, Alaska.  Past shows are available as far back as 1995.<


History
American Memory Project. Library of Congress

A wealth of primary resources from the Library of Congress. For a list of all their digital collections click here.

American Native Press Archives

The Department of English at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and the Ottenheimer Library maintain this site with its mission of "collecting and archiving the products of the Native press and materials related to Native press history, collecting and documenting the works of Native writers, and constructing bibliographic guides to Native writing and publishing. It stands today as one of the world's largest repositories of Native thought." Requires registration to search the bibliography.

Bureau of American Ethnology (Washington, D.C.)

The Bibliothèque Nationale de France has digitized the reports of the Bureau of American Ethnology for 1895-1931. Full PDFs.

Chaco Canyon Digital Initiative

This is a collaborative effort to create a digital archive that will integrate much of the widely dispersed archaeological data collected from Chaco Canyon in the late 1890s and the first half of the 20th century. Included on the web site are a bibliography, timeline, maps, inventory, downloadable tree ring data, and out of copyright texts of key material.

Doris Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History

The digital version of this collection provides historians and others with access to hundreds of interview transcripts from the period 1967 to 1972. These interviews were conducted with Indians across Oklahoma regarding the cultures and histories of their different nations and tribes.

Early Canadiana Online

This is a digital library containing over 1,630,000 pages in more than 9,100 volumes. Some of these documents are freely accessible. Others require a subscription to the database.

Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties

Oklahoma State University Library has digitized and made searchable Charles J. Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII).

Indian Land Cessions

This collection deals with the maps of the land cessions made by the Indian Nations. The time period covered is between the formal establishment of the United States and the year 1894. There were earlier cessions between the Indian tribes and the European colonists. Included are sixty-seven maps from the 1899 publication, Indian Land Cessions in the United States, compiled by Charles C. Royce. It was Part 2 of the Eighteenth Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, 1896-97 and was printed in Washington by the Government Printing Office.

Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents 1610-1791

"This site contains entire English translation of the The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents, originally compiled and edited by Reuben Gold Thwaites and published by The Burrows Brothers Company, Cleveland, throughout the latter part of the nineteenth century. Each file represents the total English contents of a single published volume. The original work has facing pages in the original French, Latin or Italian, depending on the author."

Lakota Winter Counts

An online exhibit from the Smithsonian.

Making of America

This digital library is a collaborative effort between the University of Michigan and Cornell University. It contains primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction and is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Native American Documents Project

This site provides good primary source material on the Allotment Act, the Indians of California , and the Rogues River War, and subsequent removal and resettlement of the Indians to the Siletz Reservation in Oregon. Contains the narrative reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs for 1871, 1872, 1875, and 1876.

New York State Library Digitized Collections

The Digital Collections of the New York State Library include a large array of 18th and 19th century historical materials from many subject areas, including the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Native American materials, New York State laws and natural history.

Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842

This web site contains documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum and the Museum of the Cherokee Indian. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.

 

 

 

Literature

Index of Native American Book Resources on the Internet

Includes web sites of Native American Authors, publishers, book dealers, and reading lists.

American Native Press Archives

The Department of English at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and the Ottenheimer Library maintain this site with its mission of "collecting and archiving the products of the Native press and materials related to Native press history, collecting and documenting the works of Native writers, and constructing bibliographic guides to Native writing and publishing. It stands today as one of the world's largest repositories of Native thought."

Index of Native American Resources

see sections on "electronic texts" as well as "books" (links to Native American authors)

NativeWeb listings for literature


Media

Native Networks

The Film and Video Center of the National Museum of the American Indian is dedicated to presenting and disseminating information about the work of Native Americans in media. The Center's Native Networks Web site has four goals: 1) To provide a representation of current work in the field of Native American media including film, video, radio, television and new media. 2) To provide information to the public about the outstanding media productions which have been presented in the museum's programs. 3) To provide he FVC and NMAI a way to maintain regular and frequent contact with the community of Native American independent media producers. 4) To provide a space for Native media makers to exchange ideas and to gather professional information.<


Politics, Law and Human rights

American Indian Policy Center

The web site states that their mission is to provide government leaders, policy makers and the public with accurate information about the legal and political history of American Indian nations, and the contemporary situation for American Indians.

US Dept. of the Interior |Indian Affairs

The Case of Leonard Peltier

FindLaw for Legal professionals: section on Indigenous Peoples
FindLaw. United States Code. Titles 25 - Indians

Honor our Neighbors Origins and Rights

This site serves as an index to back issues of the Honor Digest.  The library print subscription covers 1990 through 1996 with some issues missing. The index on this web site covers many political and legal controversies of concern to the Native American community (logging, fishing, land rights, mascots, pollution, gaming, desecration of sacred sites, sovereignty, NAGPRA  etc).

Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties

A digitalization of Charles Kappler's notable 7 vol. compilation of US treaties, laws, and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. Volume 2 (treaties 1778-1883)is available in its entirety as of Sept. 2000.

Indian Law Resource Center

Indian Law Resource Center is a non-profit law and advocacy organization established and directed by American Indians. Good source of background information on issues of sovereignty, land rights, and environmental problems including mining in the U.S. and Central America. Also contains news updates on important cases.

Indian Law Research page from the University of Washington School of Law

While many of the soruces are specific to the holdings of the law school, this guide is still very useful for its concise approach to the subject and its pointers to key sites on the web.

International Indian treaty Council

The International Indian Treaty Council (IITC) is an organization of Indigenous Peoples from North, Central, South America and the Pacific working for the Sovereignty and Self-Determination of Indigenous Peoples and the recognition and protection of Indigenous Rights, Traditional Cultures and Sacred Lands.

National Congress of American Indians

Founded in 1944, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) was organized in an effort "to inform the public and the federal government on tribal self-government, treaty rights, and a broad range of federal policy issues affecting tribal governments." As the NCAI is the primary group lobbying on behalf of Native American groups in the United States, the Web site contains information about related legislative efforts in the Congress and the House of Representatives, along with information about NCAI membership. The Issues section contains a number of helpful documents generated by the NCAI that detail areas of prime concern, which include sovereignty, trust reform, taxation, federal recognition,  and natural resources.

National Indian Gaming Association

National Indian Law Library

Since 1970 Native American Rights Fund (NARF) has been at the forefront of Indian law cases related to recognition; land claims; voting rights; natural resources; NAGPRA etc. Links provided to tribal codes and consitutions, treaties, tribal compacts, and tribal court opinions.

National NAGPRA

The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA) of 1990 provides a process by which museums and Federal agencies should return certain Native American cultural items, including human remains and sacred objects, to lineal descendants, culturally affiliated Indian tribes, and Native Hawaiian organizations. Includes a full-text version of the act and its various amendments, contact information for various Indian tribes, a database that contains items still to be repatriated, and a database of successfully repatriated items. The site is rounded out by a special topics area, which includes ample material on the much-publicized Kennewick Man, a set of human skeletal remains found in eastern Washington in 1996.

Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project

A cooperative effort from the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National Indian Law Library (NILL), and Native American tribes, this site offers access to the full texts of selected legal documents. Among these are Constitutions, Tribal Codes, Charters, Indian Land Titles, and summaries of recent US Supreme Court cases that have involved or affected Native Americans.

US Dept of the Interior

Bureau of Indian Affairs [BIA]

Indian Trust web site

US Senate Committee on Indian Affairs

USET [United South & Eastern Tribes]

United South and Eastern Tribes, Inc. is dedicated to enhancing the development of Indian Tribes, to improving the capabilities of Tribal governments, and assisting the member Tribes and their governments in dealing effectively with public policy issues and in serving the broad needs of Indian people.


Sports Mascots

American Indian Sports Teams Mascots;  Activist Resources & Archives

An excellent site for studying this topic or combating the problem.

The Mascot Issue

A compilation of web sites and writings on the issue of Indian mascots used by sports teams.

National Coalition on Racism in Sports and the Media
Mascots : Racism in Schools stats by state


Statistics
American Indian & Alaska Native (AIAN) data and links

This is  a US Census Bureau web site which contains 1980, 1990, and 2000 demographic, social, economic, and housing characteristics as well as links to other US Government web sites with information about contemporary federally recognized tribes. One important link is to the web site for the Office of American Indian Trust, US Dept. of the Interior, which provides an excellent legal and historical overview of the trust relationship.


Urban Indians
National Urban Indian Family Coalition

"The National Urban Indian Family Coalition is a national network of urban Indian organizations that strengthen Urban Native families by reinforcing cultural identity and respectfully working in harmony with Tribal Governments and other institutions to bring positive change, increase access and provide a strong voice."


Women

Indigenous Women's Network


 
Indians of South and Central America and the Caribbean
 

Latin American Information Network Center (LANIC)

Comprehensive listing of sites from the University of Texas. See the section on the indigenous peoples of the area as well as the sections on Anthropology & Archaeology and History.

Teotihuacan: City of the Gods

Administered by the Archaeological Research Institute of Arizona State University.

Mayan Epigraphic Database Project

"The Mayan Epigraphic Database Project (MED) is an experiment in networked scholarship with the purpose of enhancing Classic Mayan epigraphic research. At present, MED consists of a relational database of glyphs ("gnumbers"), images, phonetic values ("pvalues"), and semantic values ("svalues") according to the consensus among various American Mayanists (MacLeod and Reents-Budet 1994). Also present is the beginning of an archive of digitally transcribed Mayan texts."

Mexico Pre-Columbian History (note this is a commercial web site)

This Mexico Online portal provides information on the Aztecs, Maya, Mexica, Olmecs, Toltec, Zapotecs & other Pre-European cultures, as well as information on museums, archeology, language & education.

United Confederation of Taino People

This site highlights the work of the United Confederation of Taino People and includes various educational resources focusing on Caribbean Indigenous Peoples (Taino, Carib and Arawak). Direct contact information with regional representatives is available as well as an online copies of the organizations News Journal “La Voz del Pueblo Taino/The Voice of the Taino People”.

 


Ethnobotany

Native American Ethnobotany

This is a extensive database of plants used as drugs, food, dyes, fibers, and more by Native Peoples of North America. Hosted by University of Micigan, Dearborn.


Page Created & Maintained by: Emily Hutton-Hughesl | Last Updated: January 27, 2012 | © 2009

Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300