Colgate University | Moodle | My Colgate | Colgate Gmail | Click to go Libraries' Twitter

Maps

 

Lists of Map Resources

U.S.G.S. Maps Imagery and Publications
Gateway to maps, aerial photograhps, satelite images and data available to view, download, cand purchase from the USGS. 

Maps & References
Created by Univ. of Iowa's Center for Global and Environmental Research. List emphasizes displayable maps (e.g. images) rather than digital cartographic (GIS) and satellite data.

Cooley Science Library Map Holdings

National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
The nation’s primary source of geospatial intelligence. Description of available products and where to obtain them (How to link in the right column)

 

Virtual Map Collections

The Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
Contains images of hundreds of maps of the world's nations, major cities, state outline maps and more. Provided by the University of Texas, Austin. See How to print a map? for instructions on printing these maps.

Harvard Digital Map Collection
First-time visitors should read the "Introduction" area and then browse through some of the map indexes. The site also includes technical information on the collection, and a selection of "Search Strategies". Some of the maps here document 17th century London, maps of the Revolutionary War, and towns in Massachusetts. The detailed search engine allows users to search by collection, keyword, and those records that have digital objects. Finally, the site also includes links to the Harvard Geospatial Library and the Harvard College Library.

Map Collection, 1544-1996
Part of the Library of Congress's American Memory Project, this site contains digital reproductions of maps from L.C. The emphasis is on Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.

Euratlas
A large number of atlases and photos. Of interest is the periodical historical atlas of Europe, which allows you to see Europe at the beginning of each century. A commercial site, complete with ads and a shop, but lots of free info.

Historical Maps Online
Collaborative effort between the University of Illinois Library and the University of Illinois Press, the online material includes hundreds of digitized maps, which may be examined in minute detail with an effective zoom feature. Designed to chart "400 years of historical development in Illinois & the Northwest Territory", many other geographic areas are represented. Browse or search.

University of California digital Map Collection
A large ditial collection, accessible through OskiCat (Berkely's catalog). The Earth Science and Map Library provides tips on searching for maps in OskiCat. Archived website is still up (1/2012), but no longer being maintained.

Gilmer Civil War Maps Collection
Maps of Jeremy Francis Gilmer, engineer in both the U.S. and Confederate States of America armies. From the University of North Carolina's collection, 161 maps, plans, and land surveys of the region from Alabama to Virginia. Includes maps of the battleground of Shiloh in 1862 and military defenses along a portion of the Texas coast

United States Military Academy Digital Library: Maps
A growing collection. Divided into three sections: Civil War Maps (40 maps documenting defense lines, battle strategies, and basic political boundaries); Colonial and Federal Era Maps (early renderings of the American colonies, Revolutionary War battlegrounds, and rivers of strategic importance); and West Point Maps (only 5 maps, but includes several unusual topographical maps which are not widely known from the early 1900s)

UN Cartographic Section
Contains more than 100 current maps in .pdf format (need Adobe Acrobat reader); primarily prepared for UN briefing purposes.

David Rumsey Collection
A large private collection, primarily of 18th and 19th century North and South American maps, atlases, globes, and other cartographic items.

Charting America: Maps from the Lawrence H. Slaughter Collection & Others
Contains more than 1000 maps of North America that date from the 16th century all the way up to the waning years of the 19th century. Users are free to select from sections that include maps of North America, New York City, Virginia, and diverse others. A few of the gems offered here include an early map of the plan for Washington, D.C. and a chart of the West Indies from 1702

National Geographic Map Machine
Joint project of National Geographic and ERSI.

New York City Fire Insurance Maps
Fire Insurance maps are some of the most detailed city maps published, showing building structures, lot dimensions, shoreline locations and sometimes, property ownership. New York Public Library has digitized more than 2,000 maps from 30 atlases of N.Y. city.

 

Interactive Mapping Sites

U.S. Bureau of the Census has multiple products:
Overview and pre-produced maps
American Factfinder
Tiger Mapping Service

National Atlas of the United States of America
Interactive program produces small-scale maps. Includes authoritative digital national geospatial (e.g. soils, boundaries, volcanoes, principal aquifers) and geostatistical data sets (e.g. crime patterns, population distribution, incidence of disease). Available geographic areas include state, county, and zip code boundaries or geographic coordinates like latitude and longitude. Map layers may be downloaded in the Shapefile format or in the Topological Vector Profile of the Spatial Data Transfer Standard (SDTS). Non-interactive, 1970 print version in Case Atlases GN1200.U57 1970. Single map sheets covering specific subjects in Case Maps; cabinet 4, drawer 7.

Color Landform Atlas of the United States
Ray Sterner at Johns Hopkins University provides relief, satellite, county outlines and historical maps for each state. Also has links to state maps on other sites.

EnviroMapper
Interactive tool for mapping several types of environmental information, including drinking water, toxic and air releases, hazardous waste, water discharge permits, and Superfund sites. Also links to text reports

Wetlands Mapper
From the National Wetlands Inventory Center of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Geodata.gov
A government portal that allows users to find data or map services, make maps, browse community information, and contribute geospatial data. Personalized maps require registration. Please read privacy notice.

Google Earth
View satellite imagery, maps, terrain, 3D buildings, from galaxies in outer space to the canyons of the ocean.

NASA World WindJava SDK
See the demos for the types of applications this program can be used for, from surface imagery to terrain plotting.

OpenStreetMap.org
A Google Earth competitor that permits you to upload data to help create a map of the world with a wide array of geographical, social, and recreational information

 

Gazetteers

GEOnet Name Server
Provides access to the NGA's database of foreign and domestic geographic feature names. Approximately 20,000 of the database's 3.5 million features are updated monthly with names information approved by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names.

Geographic Names Information System
Information about almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States. The Federally recognized name of each feature described in the data base is identified, and references are made to a feature's location by State, county, and geographic coordinates. The GNIS is our Nation's official repository of domestic geographic names information.

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online
The TGN is a structured, world-coverage vocabulary of 1.3 million names, including vernacular and historical names, coordinates, and place types, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.

 

 

Page Created & Maintained by: Mary Jane Walsh | Last Updated: January 25, 2012 | © 2009

Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300