COLGATE UNIVERSITY | MOODLE | MY COLGATE | COLGATE GMAIL | Click to go Libraries' Twitter

Law

Lists of recommended sites

FindLaw
One of the most comprehensive legal resources available on the Internet.  It includes pointers to law schools, legal publishers, legal associations, statutes and laws, judicial opinions and case law (federal and state), law firms and lawyers, legal news, consultants and experts, international law resources, and more. Two new resource centers were added in 1998: small business (how to start, finance, manage, and market a small business), and consumer law (articles about issues such as landlord/tenant relations, personal injury, labor and employment, hiring and using lawyers to settle disputes, etc.).

Guide to Law Online
Created by the US Law Library of Congress, this metasite indexes online resources for legal information worldwide. Four primary sections: US, Nations, International and Multinational, and Subjects. The largest of these is the Nations section, which offers links to the constitution; executive, legislative, and judicial branches; legal guides; and general resources for more than 200 countries.

Global Legal Information Network
A public database of official texts, in the original language, of laws, regulations, judicial opinions, etc. contributed by government agencies and international organizations. Click on "More Search Options" to begin.

Law and Policy Institutions Guide
In addition to domestic legal topics, this site provides information on significant international treaties, journals, and legal databases ranging from antiquity to the present and representing all nationalities. Includes Law and Policy Institutions Article Database

Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases
Maintained at New York University's Law School, this site provides access to all types (from copyright to trade) of law sites.

World Legal Systems
University of Ottawa website with links to different types of law governing countires of the world. Includes explanations of the different types of law and bibliographies.

Colgate Libraries subject guides:
Government - United States
Government - States (U.S.)
Government - Foreign
Government - International Organizations

 

Article Databases

Law
LexisNexis Academic (varies, 1981- )
In left hand column, click on US Legal and select Law Reviews or click on International Legal and select Canadian Law Journals.

Hein Online Political Science Journals - Basic (first vol.- )
full text

Index to Legal Periodical Literature ( -1920)
part of Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Index to Legal Periodicals (1952-1996)
Case Ref K9 .N35

Women's Annotated Legal Bibliography (1978-1992)
Case Ref KF477.A1 W636

NCJRS Abstracts (1970s- )
Coverage: corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. Government & research books, journal articles, and unpublished research

Political Science

Political Philosophy

History

 

Book Reviews

Index to Legal Periodicals (1952-1996)
Case Ref K9 .N35

Book Review Index (1965-- )

Book Review Digest (1905-2005)
Case Reference Z1219 .C95
More selective than BooK Review Index. Check in year of publication of the book and year after publication.

Academic Search Premier

Links to multi-disciplinary databases with book reviews

 

Judicial

Supreme Court Opinions

United States Reports (each volume has an index)
LASR Gov't Docs JU 6.8: 

GPO Access (1973-75, 1992-2000)

LexisNexis Academic Legal - Federal and State Cases - U.S. Supreme Court (1790- )
Lawyers Ed. Includes annotated references.

United States Supreme Court (2006 term- )

Find Law (1893- )
Also includes Opinion summaries from 2000-

Google Scholar
Full text legal opinions from U.S. federal and state district, appellate and supreme courts. Be sure to check the button for "Legal opinions and journals". Search by cases case name (like Planned Parenthood v. Casey), or by topics (like desegregation). More information from the Google blog.

FEDWORLD/FLITE Supreme Court Decisions Homepage 
Provides access to ASCII text of U.S. Supreme Court Decisions from 1937-1975. Also has 325 historic court decisions. These are not the "official" versions of the decisions, which are contained in United States Reports, Case Documents JU 6.8:
Alternative access to same database via FDSys

Project Hermes
Access to U.S. Supreme Court decisions and orders from 1990-- released electronically by the court.
Via Federal Bulletin Board (ASCII, WordPerfect 5.1, PDF formats)
Via Cornell University's Legal Information Institute (HTML, PDF formats). Also contains information such as court calendar and rules.

Refugee Case Law
"This site is designed to assist judges, advocates, and policymakers around the world to access leading court decisions that interpret the refugee definition set by the 1951 Refugee Convention and its 1967 Protocol. Our core collection contains cases from the highest national courts of Australia, Canada, Germany, New Zealand, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States"

Briefs submitted by the parties (Supreme Court)

Landmark briefs and arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States
Case Main KF101.9 .L36

LexisNexis Academic US Legal -- Supreme Court Briefs
Supreme Court merit briefs for cases granted cert., amicus curiae briefs, joint appendices and special masters beginning in January 1979, with selected coverage from 1936. All briefs for cases granted cert. begins after 1993. Also includes all briefs for cases petitioning for cert. after 2001.

FindLaw
For October 1999 term to the present includes petitioner, respondent, reply and amicus briefs in multiple formats.

Office of the Solicitor General (Dept. of Justice) From 7/1998 to present, all briefs filed by the Solicitor General, except responses to IFP cases. From 1993-1996, and 1986-1990 Solicitor General merits briefs and responses. From 1982-1985 Solicitor General merits briefs. Please see the web site for information on omissions, arrangement, and formats

Supreme Court oral arguments

Supreme Court 2000-

Oyez varies

Supreme Court data and analysis

The Supreme Court Compendium
Case Ref KF8742.S914 2007

The Supreme Court Database


Other Court Opinions

LexisNexis Academic US Legal - Federal and State Cases

Google Scholar
Full text legal opinions from U.S. federal and state district, appellate and supreme courts. Be sure to check the button for "Legal opinions and journals". Search by cases case name (like Planned Parenthood v. Casey), or by topics (like desegregation). More information from the Google blog.

Refugee Case Law
"This site is designed to assist judges, advocates, and policymakers around the world to access leading court decisions that interpret the refugee definition set by the 1951 Refugee Convention and its 1967 Protocol. Our core collection contains cases from the highest national courts of Australia, Canada, Germany, New Zealand, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States"

LexisNexis Academic International Legal

 

Legislative

From a Bill to a Law
A brief introduction to how a bill becomes law.

LexisNexis Academic - Legal Research
Full text of newspapers and law review articles, federal and state codes, European Union laws and treaties. Choose appropriate file from Codes & Regulations.

New York State Laws - via LexixNexis - Legal Research - State Codes - New York
Codified laws, constitution, court rules, and Attorney General Decisions.

New York State Laws - via FindLaw
Links to codified and uncodified laws of New York State, state constitution, bill information, and Senate and Assembly bill information

GPO Access
Mandated by congress, GPO Access contains the full text of many congressional publications, including bills, documents and reports, and the Congressional Record. Grows weekly.

Thomas
Contains a wide range of legislative materials, including many that are also on GPO Access. Better for  tracking bills and current legislative action than GPO Access

 

Regulatory

Code of Federal Regulations
Online (GPO Access): 1997--
Paper: 1989--
Case Ref Document AE 2.106/3:current ed
LASF Gov't Docs

Federal Register
Online (GPO Access): 1994--

List of CFR Sections Affected
Online (GPO Access):  1986--
Paper: 1973-2000
Case Ref Document AE 2.106/2-2:

Unified Agenda
Online (GPO Access): 1994--

 

Traffic

State Traffic Laws
From FindLaw

Page Created & Maintained by: Mary Jane Walsh | Last Updated: November 18, 2010 | © 2009

Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300