[help/banner.html]Government -- United States
See also Law and Political Science
Lists
of sites -- Search Engines --
Legislative -- Executive -- Judiciary -- Budget
process
Available in Case Library --
Dates of
Congressional Sessions
Link to
popular titles and online
alternatives
-
U.S. Federal Government
Agencies Page
- A comprehensive list of
agencies sites, this one created by the Louisiana State University in
partnership with the Government Printing Office.
-
-
Federal Government Resources
on the Web
- Created by the University of
Michigan Documents Center, this site mixes agency lists with subject lists. Of
interest is their link
Government Documents in the News, which covers "government making news
headlines".
-
-
USA.gov
- Formerly Firstgov.gov, this
is the official portal of the U.S. federal government. Browse or search by topic or
agency.
-
-
Subject Indexes
to Government Information on the Internet
- A list of websites that
have subject guides to government information on the net. Organized by
institution, not by subject.
-
Lists of government sites
by subject
-
Frequently Used Sites
- Maintained by the Federal
Documents Task Force of the Government Documents Round Table of the American
Library Association.
-
-
Federal Government
Resources on the Web
- Created by the University of
Michigan Documents Center, this site mixes agency lists with subject lists. Of
interest is their link Government Documents in the News, which covers "government making news
headlines".
-
-
Pathway Services, Browse Topics
- Maintained by volunteer
librarians and hosted by the Superintendent of Documents, this site arranges
government Internet sites by subject topic. The list of topics is based upon
the current Guide to U.S. Government Information, also known as The Subject
Bibliographies (Case Indexes Z1223. A195)
-
-
USA.gov
- Formerly Firstgov.gov, this
is the official portal of the U.S. federal government. Browse or search by topic or
agency.
-
-
-
Colgate's Library Catalog (Mondo)
- The Colgate Libraries' catalog contains cataloging
records for documents from July 1976 to the present. Some older documents have
been cataloged, including documents from the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the
Civil Rights Commission.
-
- Monthly
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
- Online (FirstSearch): July 1976--
Paper: July 1924-76
Case Indexes Z1223.A18
Subject coverage: multidisciplinary.
Materials indexed: materials published by the federal government.
Publishing info: published monthly; cumulated annually. Time lag up to3 years. Arranged
by publishing agency; subject index. Author, title and report number indexes added in
1976; keyword title index added in 1980. Preceded by:
Checklist of United States Public Documents
1789-1909 (arranged by SuDocs number)
Poore's 1774-1881 (stored during construction)
Ames 1881-1893 (Case Indexes
Z1223 .A114 1905)
Document Catalog 1894-1939 (stored during
construction)
-
-
GPO Access
- Mandated by congress, GPO Access contains the full text of many
congressional publications (including bills, documents and reports, the Congressional
Record), and an increasing number of non-congressional publications, such as the Economic
Report of the President, GAO Reports, and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential
Documents. Also provides links to other federal agency web pages. Grows weekly.
-
Google Uncle Sam
- Has a special search engine for .gov and .mil web sites. Searches .pdf
files!
-
-
USA.gov
- Formerly Firstgov.gov, this
is the official portal of the U.S. federal government. Browse or search by topic or
agency.
-
-
Uncle Sam: migrating
government publications
- Maintained by the regional depository library at University of
Memphis, this site provides direct access to individual publications as they are converted
to digital format by agencies. Can be browsed by title or by Superintendent of Documents
number (agency).
CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1909.
Guide to Documents listed in the Checklist of U.S. Public Documents, 1789-1909, not
printed in the U.S. Serial Set.
Case Ref Documents
Z1223 .A1134 1990
Arranged by agency; subject and name indexes. Reference bibliography lists documents by
SuDocs number.
CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents, 1910-1932.
Guide to documents not printed in the U.S. Serial Set.
Case Ref Documents
Z1223 .A11346 1996
Arranged by agency; subject and name indexes. Reference bibliography lists documents by
SuDocs number.
Congressional Research Service Reports search
Steve Stoft's custom Google search
- Legislative Process help
subscription, Colgate users only
Indexes/Search engines
Many government titles have their own indexes, not listed below. Ask at
Reference Desk.-
Lexis/Nexis Congressional--subscription, Colgate users
only
- Online: varies with portion of database
(coverage
chart)
Includes the online version of CIS Index to Publications of the United
States Congress, including abstracts and legislative histories; selected
full text of congressional reports, documents, and prints, and the
Congressional Record; prepared statements at hearings (not complete
text), full text of bills
and bill-tracking, U.S. Code Service, current Federal Register
and Code of Federal Regulations, biographical and financial information
and voting records of members of congress; committee rosters, charters, and
schedules; news from the hill, including stories from the Washington Post,
Roll Call, and The Hill; and links to hot bills/topics and other
websites.
- GPO Access
-
Mandated by congress, GPO Access contains the full text of many
congressional publications (including bills, documents and reports, the Congressional
Record), and an increasing number of non-congressional publications, such as the Economic
Report of the President, GAO Reports, and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential
Documents. Also provides links to other federal agency web pages. Grows weekly.
-
- Thomas
- Contains a wide range of legislative materials, including many that
are also on GPO Access. Better for tracking bills and current legislative action
than GPO Access
-
Legislative Branch Internet
Resources
- Comprehensive list of links to websites with
legislative/congressional information, including GPO Access and Thomas (see
above).
-
- Legislative Histories (selected laws)
-
LexisNexis Congressional 1988-
U.S.
Federal Legislative Histories (Hein Online)
-
- U.S. Senate
- The official web site with links to members' pages, committees, roll
call votes, and recent legislative activities.
Link directly to New York State's senators: Charles
Schumer and Hillary Rodham
Clinton
-
- U.S. House of
Representatives
- The official web site with links to members' pages, committees, roll
call votes, and recent legislative activities.
Link directly to John M. McHugh representative of the 23rd Congressional District
(Clinton, Essex (part), Franklin, Fulton (part), Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis,
Madison, Oneida (part), Oswego, St. Lawrence counties). District
map
-
- U.S. Congressional
Bibliographie
- Maintained by North Carolina State Univ.,
provides lists of meetings held by Senate and House committees (1985-- ), and
of hearings, prints published by the Senate (1983-- ). Based on data from
Congressional Record Daily Digest, and Senate Library information.
-
- C-Span Capitol Hearings
- Streaming video of televised hearings
-
- Roll Call Votes
Lexis/Nexis Congressional--subscription, Colgate users
only
- Covers 1988--
When connected, select
Members. Key votes option is searchable by name; votes option is searchable by
bill number or keyword.
-
-
U.S. Congress Votes Database
- Covers 1991--
Maintained by the
Washington Post, covers house and senate votes from 102nd congress-- .
Can be browsed by representative name or by bill number. Includes an RSS feed
-
-
House of Representatives Roll Call Votes
- Covers
1990--
-
-
Senate Floor Votes
- Covers
1989--
-
-
Voteview
- Covers 1789-2000
VOTEVIEW is a software designed to
manipulate legislative roll call data. The data currently available with
Voteview include all individual roll call votes for the first 106 Congresses
(1789-2000), maps of congressional districts, codebooks with descriptive
information on the roll calls, codings of the roll calls into thematic and
topical categories, and the Poole-Rosenthal DW-NOMINATE ideological scores for
members -
- Congressional Roll Call. Washington, D.C.:
CQ Press
-
CASE Ref JK1.C6635
1979, 1982--
Published annually. For each congress, contains vote studies, votes on key
measures arrange by CQ assigned number. Bill number and subject indexes.
-
- Congressional Quarterly Almanac.
Washington, D.C.: CQ Press
-
CASE Ref JK1.C66
1945--
Published annually. Appendices contain vote studies, votes on key measures
arranged by CQ assigned number, bill number index.
-
- Congressional Voting Guide: a ten year
compilation of the 99th congress. Victor Bosnich, 1987.
-
Case Main JK1051 .B67 1987
Covers 1977-1986
Lists "major votes" of members of the 99th congress. Lists measures by
house, then votes by state and representative
Very selective roll calls also available in:
- Almanac of American Politics. Washington,
D.C.: National Journal
-
CASE Ref JK271.A42
1972--
Online
1998--
Published biennially. Arranged by state and representative.
-
- CQ's
Politics in America. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press
-
CASE Ref JK1012.C63
1990--
Published biennially. Arranged by state and representative
Subject headings to search in the catalog:
United States Congress Voting
Congressional Research Service Reports
-
Executive Branch
-
Library of
Congress
- Comprehensive list of links to executive branch websites, including
the White House (see below).
-
-
Presidential
Directives
- List of sources (some online) which contain presidential directives.
Maintained by the staff of the Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room of the
Library of Congress.
-
-
The White House
- President Bush. Previous White
House web pages available at National Archives and Records Administration http://clinton.nara.gov
-
-
OMB Statements of Administration Policy on Non-Appropriations and Appropriations Bills
- Full text of Presidential position statements about
proposed legislation. Begins with 105th congress, 1st session, 1997.
-
- Unified Agenda of Federal Regulatory and Deregulatory Action
- Official site at
GPO Access
Unofficial site at U.Mass
-
-
GPO Access
- Mandated by congress, GPO Access contains the full text of many
congressional publications (including bills, documents and reports, the Congressional
Record), and an increasing number of non-congressional publications, such as the Economic
Report of the President, GAO Reports, and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential
Documents. Also provides links to other federal agency web pages. Grows weekly.
-
Judiciary
See also 'Gateway Virtual Library -- Law
-
Library of
Congress
- Comprehensive list of links to judiciary websites, including Supreme
Court opinions.
-
-
United States
Supreme Court
Budget process
-
©2003
Colgate University Libraries
Everett Needham Case Library & George R. Cooley Science Library
13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, New York 13346
Page Created & Maintained by Mary Jane
Walsh
Last Updated
02/18/2008