Colgate University | Moodle | My Colgate | Colgate Gmail | Click to go Libraries' Twitter

United States Budget

 

Guides to Understanding the Budget Process

Analytical Perspectives, Budget of the United States Government
Case Document PREX 2.8/5:  1995-
GPO Access:  1996- Chapter "Budget System and Concepts and Glossary" (about 20 pages) outlines the budget process, from formulation to enforcement; defines terms.

Budget System and Concepts
Case Document  PREX 2.8: 
GPO Access:  1997- Contains an explanation of the budget process and concepts used to formulate budget proposals. Select year, then scroll to Supporting Documents section.

How Congress Works - the Budget Process from the House Rules Committee   Congressional Research Service reports on the budget process Scroll down to "Budget Process"  

Citizen's Guide to the Federal Budget, Budget of the United States Government
Case Docs Pamphlet: PREX 2.8:2002/CITIZEN
GPO Access:  Much less detailed than above documents. 2002 is most recent ed. published  

Books in the Colgate Libraries

Search the catalog for the subject heading Budget process -- United States

Budget Documents

Titles and sections of budget documents have varied over the years. In Case Library, all of the documents are shelved under the call number PREX 2.8. The major titles are listed below.

Budget of the United States Government
Case Ref Document PREX 2.8:  current year only
LASR Gov't Docs PREX 2.8:  1923-
GPO Access  1996-
LASR Computer Files PREX 2.8/1: 1996-
Contains the budget message of the President and proposals by budget function.

Budget of the United States Government. Appendix.
Case Ref Document PREX 2.8:  current year only
LASR Gov't Docs PREX 2.8:  1952-
GPO Access  1996-
LASR Computer Files PREX 2.8/1: 1996-
Designed for the Appropriations Committee, for each agency contains: proposed text of appropriations language, budget schedules for each account, new legislative proposals, explanations of the work to be performed and the funds needed, and proposed general provisions applicable to the appropriations of entire agencies or group of agencies. Also provides information on certain activities whose outlays are not part of the budget totals.  

Analytical Perspectives, Budget of the United States Government
Case Ref Document PREX 2.8/5:  current year only
Case Document PREX 2.8/5:  1995-
GPO Access:  1996-
LASR Computer Files PREX 2.8/1: 1996-
Includes information on Federal receipts and collections; analyses of federal spending; detailed information on federal borrowing and debt; the Budget Enforcement Act preview report; current services estimates, and other technical presentations. Also includes information on the budget system and concepts and a list of the Federal programs by agency and account.  

Historical Tables, Budget of the United States Government
Case Ref Document PREX 2.8/8: current year only
Case Document PREX 2.8/8:  1986--
GPO Access:  1996-
LASR Computer Files PREX 2.8/1: 1996-
Data on budget receipts, outlays, surpluses or deficits, federal debt, and federal employment over time (generally 1940- ). The place to go to see what has been spent, rather than what has been proposed.  

Other sources for spending information

USASpending.gov
Provides information about federal awards/grants, as collected from federal agencies. The data is largely from sources: the Federal Procurement Data System, which contains information about federal contracts; and the Federal Assistance Award Data System, which contains information about federal financial assistance such as grants, loans, insurance, and direct subsidies like Social Security.

Consolidated Federal Funds Report
Annual publication of the Census. Data are obtained on the amount of virtually all Federal expenditures, including grants, loans, direct payments, insurance, procurement, salaries and wages and other awards (such as price supports and research awards). Data represent actual expenditures (or outlays) with some exceptions (e.g. contract amounts may represent obligations, loans and insurance can include cash and contingent liability values, and grants to individuals may reflect benefit commitments). Expenditures are reported by responsible department or agency, and classified by affected program (such as Federal Emergency Management Agency disaster relief grants or Food and Nutrition Services Women Infants and Children (WIC) Program). Data may not be available at the sub-agency level.


Page Created & Maintained by: Mary Jane Walsh | Last Updated: April 5, 2010 | © 2009

Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300