Colgate University Libraries
connect ˜ discover ˜ create
Elections
U.S. Elections
Project Vote Smart
This national non-partisan, non-profit effort researches, tracks and provides to the public, independent factual information on over 13,000 candidates and elected officials. Voting records, campaign issue positions, performance evaluations by special interests, campaign contributions, backgrounds, previous experience, and contact information are available.
Politics1.com
Info about candidates, comprehensive links to news and humor sites, parties, special interest groups, calendar, etc.
RealClear Politics.com
Founded in 2000 by John McIntyre and Tom Bevan, Chicago-based RCP is every morning and throughout the day. RCP culls and publishes commentary, news, polling data, and links to important resources from all points of the political compass and covering all the important issues of the day.
GODORT Elections
Maintained by the Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association
Congress.org
State-by-state information
CQ Politics
Free news site from Congressional Quarterly
VoteGopher (under construction on 1/24/2012)
Founded in 2007 by Harvard student, content created by and aimed at young voters. Compare major candidates by 25 issues, participate in discussion boards; election coverage in development; widgets and Facebook application available.
Yahoo! U.S. Elections
List of election links
Washington Post Politics Campaigns
Includes video of campaign ads.
New York Times Politics
If prompted for a login and password, use CASEPUB for both. Includes articles about campaign ads.
Christian Science Monitor Domestic Politics
National Journal
Colgate users only. Includes video of campaign ads, and articles about the ads.
270toWin.com
Currently planning for the 2012 election. Contins interatcive maps. Polling map was particularly interesting in 2008. Caution: source of data unkown.
Indecision
Brought to you by Comedy Central
FactCheck.org
From the
Anneberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. Studies claims made by politicions and in ads and mailers.
PolitiFact.com
Joint venture of the St. Petersburg Times and the Congressional Quarterly. Features the "Truth-O-Meter" ratings of candidates statements.
Washington Post Factchecker
Political statements researched and rated for truthfulness.
FlackCheck.org
From the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania, a video-based counterpart to FactCheck.org. Uses parody and humor to debunk false political advertising, poke fun at extreme language, and hold the media accountable for their reporting on political campaigns
Living Room Candidate
Online exhibit from the American Museum of the Moving Candidate offers television commercials for each presidential candidate from the years 1952 to 2008, along with an analysis of each major party, their advertising campaigns, and a map showing the results of each election.
See comprehensive and news sites
Fact checking websites cover ads too. See above
Democrats
- Democratic National Committee
- Democratic Leadership Council
- Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee (DCCC)
- House Democratic Caucus
- House Democratic Leadership
- Senate Democratic Policy Committee
- Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee
- Senate Democratic Leadership Committees
- Women's National Democratic Club
Republicans
- Republican National Committee (RNC)
- National Republican Congressional Committee
- House Republican Policy Committee
- House Republican Conference
- Senate Republican Conference
- Senate Republican Policy Committee
Other Parties (links to)
How to Research Elections
CASE Ref JK976.M37 2000
Browse Case Ref JK1965-JK2217 for titles such As America Votes and CQ volumes, Vital Statistics on ...
Search the catalog. Elections may be used as a subject heading (e.g. Elections -- United States) or as a sudivision of a subject heading (e.g. Presidents -- Elections)
Election Information from Office of the Clerk of the House
Results by candidate, state, party from 1920-
Federal Election Commission Library
Results for national elections, some in Excel spreadsheets, 1996-2008
ANES (American National Election Studies) 1948-
Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation available for download.
Checkout the Guide to Public Opinion and Electoral Behavior, a small subset of pre-formed tables and graphs.
Also available as part of the SDA Statistical Documentation and Analysis Archive at UC Berkeley, which allows online analysis.
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), located within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan , is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. Colgate is a member and data not available on the Internet can be requested from the University representative in the Economics Department.
U.S. Census. Voting and Registration
From the Current Population Survey 1964-
Federal Election Commission
In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. This site is useful for its statistics on registration, voting, and campaign finances.
Opensecrets.org
A non-partisan non-profit organization, the Center for Responsible Politics specializes in the study of Congress and particularly the role that money plays in its elections and actions. Data about campaign finances available at this site, as well as CRP press releases.
American University Campaign Finance Website
Maintained by American University School of Communication, this site was designed to "help journalists improve their coverage of campaign finance issues." Contains data from 1996 - 2000 campaigns; summaries, tables, and downloadable files (from the FEC website, above)
Public Campaign
Non profit non-partisan organization dedicated to sweeping reform that aims to dramatically reduce the role of special interest money in America's elections and the influence of big contributors in American politics.
Campaign Money
Search contributions by zip code, address, name or political action committee. Special reports include contributions made by celebrities, industries, companies, and more.
Campaign Finance Institute
A non-profit institute affiliated with The George Washington University that "conducts objective research and education, empanels task forces and makes recommendations for policy change in the field of campaign finance."
MapLight.org
Mashup of private and government information: voting records (Thomas), contributions (CRP data from FEC), and support for bills (hearings, news databases, organizational websites). Most interesting cross-tabulation is contributions received by yes/no vote for each bill.
See:
Comprehensive sites
News
Public Opinion Polls
New York State Board of Elections
Vote411.org
Project of the League of Women Voters Education Fund
Register to Vote/Absentee Ballots
New York State information
Click on "Voting Information"
Other States - Project Vote Smart
Click on "Voter Registration" at the top of the page
Vote411.org
Project of the League of Women Voters Education Fund
International Elections
Election Guide
Maintained by the International Foundation for Election Systems. Includes news, a calendar and map of upcoming elections, and data
Election Resources on the Internet
Links to external websites containing publicly available election data and other electoral information for more than 120 countries. Format a bit funky, but it works.
GODORT Elections
Maintained by the Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association. This section is specifically about non-U.S. elections
News
Access World News - International Edition
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. This title does not include U.S. news.
LexisNexis Academic
Click on News in the left column, then, at the bottom of the next screen, select which country or region of the world you want to search for news about. Will include both U.S. and non-U.S. news sources.
Christian Science Monitor
Although it doesn't have a a politics section, the CSM is known for it's balanced coverage of international affairs.
Page Created & Maintained by: Mary Jane Walsh | Last Updated: March 5, 2012 | © 2009
Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300