COLGATE UNIVERSITY | MOODLE | MY COLGATE | GMAIL : STUDENTS / FACULTY & STAFF

Elections 2008

 

Comprehensive Sites

Project Vote Smart
This national non-partisan, non-profit effort researches, tracks and provides to the public, independent factual information on over 13,000 candidates and elected officials. Voting records, campaign issue positions, performance evaluations by special interests, campaign contributions, backgrounds, previous experience, and contact information are available.

Politics1.com
Info about candidates, comprehensive links to news and humor sites, parties, special interest groups, calendar, etc.

RealClear Politics.com
Founded in 2000 by John McIntyre and Tom Bevan, Chicago-based RCP is every morning and throughout the day. RCP culls and publishes commentary, news, polling data, and links to important resources from all points of the political compass and covering all the important issues of the day.

GODORT Elections
Maintained by the Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association

Congress.org
State-by-state information

CQ Politics
Free news site from Congressional Quarterly

Wiki the Vote
A project of Congresspedia, which is sponsored by the Sunlight Foundation and the Center for Media and Democracy.

VoteGopher
Founded in 2007 by Harvard student, content created by and aimed at young voters. Compare major candidates by 25 issues, participate in discussion boards; election coverage in development; widgets and Facebook application available.


Election News on the Web

ABC News Politics

CNN ElectionCenter2008

CBS News Politics

MSNBC News

NPR Elections

Washington Post Politics Elections
Includes video of campaign ads.

New York Times Politics
If prompted for a login and password, use CASEPUB for both. Includes articles about campaign ads.

Christian Science Monitor Domestic Politics

National Journal
Colgate users only. Includes video of campaign ads, and articles about the ads.

Map the Candidates
From Slate magazine, track candidate travel and link to videos and local coverage of campaign stops.

270toWin.com
An interactive Electoral College map for 2008 and a history of Presidential elections in the United States. Polling map particularly interesting. Caution: source of data unkown.

YouTube: You Choose '08
Videos of questions asked at presidential debates, candidate reponses, and user-generated responses to the same questions.

Indecision 2008
Brought to you by Comedy Central


Fact checking websites

FactCheck.org
From the Anneberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. Studies claims made by politicions and in ads and mailers.

PolitiFact.com
Joint venture of the St. Petersburg Times and the Congressional Quarterly. Features the "Truth-O-Meter" ratings of candidates statements.

Washington Post Factchecker
Political statements researched and rated for truthfulness.

 

Campaign ads

Living Room Candidate
Online exhibit from the American Museum of the Moving Candidate offers television commercials for each presidential candidate from the years 1952 to 2008, along with an analysis of each major party, their advertising campaigns, and a map showing the results of each election.

National Journal Ad Spotlight
Each ad write-up includes a summary of the spot, ad buy details and RealAudio™ or RealVideo™ of the commercial itself. Covers 1997--

Fact checking websites cover ads too. See above

 

Lists of websites

Elections 2008
Site maintained at the University of Michigan Documents Center

Google Elections

Google Campaigns and Candidates

Yahoo! U.S. Elections


Candidate Information

President
Barak Obama (D)
John McCain (R)

House - New York, 23rd District
John M. McHugh (R, incumbent)
Mike Oot (D, challenger)

(access other candidates pages from Comprehensive Sites)


Political Parties

Democratic National Committee

Republican National Committee

Other Parties (links to)


Campaign Finance Information

Federal Election Commission
In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. This site is useful for its statistics on registration, voting, and campaign finances.

Opensecrets.org
A non-partisan non-profit organization, the Center for Responsible Politics specializes in the study of Congress and particularly the role that money plays in its elections and actions. Data about campaign finances available at this site, as well as CRP press releases.

American University Campaign Finance Website
Maintained by American University School of Communication, this site was designed to "help journalists improve their coverage of campaign finance issues." Contains data from 1996 - 2000 campaigns; summaries, tables, and downloadable files (from the FEC website, above)

Public Campaign
Non profit non-partisan organization dedicated to sweeping reform that aims to dramatically reduce the role of special interest money in America's elections and the influence of big contributors in American politics.

Campaign Money
Search contributions by zip code, address, name or political action committee. Special reports include contributions made by celebrities, industries, companies, and more.

Campaign Finance Institute
A non-profit institute affiliated with The George Washington University that "conducts objective research and education, empanels task forces and makes recommendations for policy change in the field of campaign finance."

MapLight.org
Mashup of private and government information: voting records (Thomas), contributions (CRP data from FEC), and support for bills (hearings, news databases, organizational websites). Most interesting cross-tabulation is contributions received by yes/no vote for each bill.


Election Rules

New York State Board of Elections

Federal Election Commission

Vote411.org
Project of the League of Women Voters Education Fund


Polls

See:
Comprehensive sites
N
ews
Public Opinion Polls


Register to Vote/Absentee Ballots

New York State information
Click on "Voting"

Other States - Project Vote Smart
Click on "Voter Registration" at the top of the page

Vote411.org
Project of the League of Women Voters Education Fund

 

Page Created & Maintained by: Mary Jane Walsh | Last Updated: December 22, 2009 | © 2009

Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300