Colgate University | Moodle | My Colgate | Colgate Gmail | Click to go Libraries' Twitter

FSEM 106A : Challenge of Modernity

Assignment: Identify books and journal articles which contain contemporary reaction to
Darwin's Origin of the Species (1859).

Begining your research. Ask youself the following questions about the assignment:

what kinds of sources are required?
- Books, articles, websites
-scholarly or popular
-primary or secondary

What keywords would be relevant for searching this topic?
-synonyms
-variant spellings?

What citation style does my professor ask for?

Research FAQs


[1a] Search for books in our catalog using an Exact subject heading search

Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882 - On the origin of the species.
Evolution (Biology) <== limit to works published before 1900.
Natural Selection <== limit to works published before 1900.

[1b] Do we have any reference sources (encyclopedias, bibliographies etc.) which will help with this assignment?
Hint: limit the above subject searches to location Case Reference or Cooley reference.

[2] Check for articles written in these databases.

19th Century Master File
Covers: 1786-1922. Index to periodicals published prior to 1925.

JSTOR
Coverage: varies by title. Earliest publication begins in 1665. Over 800 core scholarly journals.

HarpWeek
Coverage: 1857-1912. Electronic access to Harper's Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.

Nation Digital Archive
Coverage: 1865- 1 month ago. Contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of The Nation, is America’s oldest weekly magazine and one of its premier journals of opinion.

Periodical Index Online
Coverage: 1770-1990. A database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

America's Historical Newspapers
Coverage: 1690-1922. Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

New York Times - Proquest Historical Newspapers
Covers: 1851- 3 years ago. Search the full text of the New York Times

Times Digital Archive
Coverage: 1785-1985. Search the full-text of the Times (London) Digital Archive. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.

Page Created & Maintained by: Emily Hutton-Hughes, Head of Collection Development | Last Updated: May 27, 2010 | © 2009

Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300