Colgate University Libraries
connect ˜ discover ˜ create
POSC 408
Seminar: Contemporary Issues in Social Justice
Research Resources
Searching for a topic? Browse these specialized reference sources:
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
CASE Ref. HN57 .E594 2004
Working Americans, 1880-2005
CASE Ref. HD8066 .D427 2005
The State of working America
CASE Ref. HD8051 .S73 2004/05
Gay and lesbian rights in the United States : a documentary history
CASE Ref. HQ76.8.U5 G37 2003
Historical Dictionary of the Gay Liberation Movement : Gay Men and the Quest for Social Justice
CASE Ref. HQ76.5 .H86 1999
Civil rights in the United States
CASE Ref. E184.A1 C47 2000
Civil rights in America : 1500 to the present
CASE Ref. JC599.U5 S53 1998
A nation of peoples : a sourcebook on America's multicultural heritage
CASE Ref. E184.A1 N2866 1999
Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America
CASE Ref. E184.A1 G15 1999
Crime and the justice system in America : an encyclopedia
CASE Ref. HV6789 .C6884 1997
Women and the law : leaders, cases, and documents
CASE Ref. KF478 .K84 2003
TITLE Encyclopedia of American immigration
CASE Ref. JV6465 .E53 2001
Books
Colgate’s Library Catalog
ConnectNY (3 day delivery to Colgate)
WorldCat (5-10 day delivery to Colgate)
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier
JSTOR
Political Science
Law
African American Studies
Queer Studies
Women’ Studies
Primary sources may be more than statistics - text (e.g. laws, debates, speeches), visual (e.g. photos), interviews, public opinion surveys. Tips on searching for text-based primary sources.
Statistics
For our purposes, data is most likely to include census data, health data, and economic and social indicators.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
CASE Ref. HA202 .S732006
County and City Databook
CASE Ref
State & Metropolitan Area Data Book
CASE Ref
Decennial census
CASE Ref Documents C 3.Census:year
Fedstats website
Search multiple federal government statistics sites at the same time. Among the most useful:
- Census Bureau (non-decennial census data)
- American Factfinder (decennial census data 1990 & 2000)
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
- DHS Immigration Statistics
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
ICPSR
Data files, primarily in SASS or SPSS covering a wide range of political and social research, including voting studies and the United States supreme Court Judicial Database. Many data sets include bibliographies of publications that use the data.
Public Opinion Polls with links to:
- Introduction to understanding polling data
- Polling the Nation
- Poll Track from the National Journal tracks public opinion on campaigns and legislative and policy issue
- Pew Research Center
Gallup Poll publications
Retrospective: CASE Ref HN90.P8 G29 1999 (1937-1997)
Annual: CASE Ref HN90 .P8 G35 (1988- )
Monthly: CASE Ref HM261.A1 G34 (1971-2002)
Tuesday Briefings: CASE Ref HM261.A1 G34 (Apr. 2002-2005)
American Attitudes
CASE Ref. HN90.P8 M58 2000
Measures of Political Attitudes
CASE Ref. JA74.5 .M43 1999
Colgate’s Library Catalog
Government documents (1976-present) are individually cataloged. The location code for these materials includes the word “document,” as in CASE Documents, CASE Ref Document or LASR Documents.
LexisNexis Congressional
Indexes many of the documents that are generated by the federal legislative process. Very selective full text. Some congressional materials (pre-1976) are published in large sets with their own indexing. Ask for help!
LexisNexis Academic, click on “Legal” tab near top of page. State and federal court decisions and laws; Supreme Court merit briefs for
cases granted cert., amicus curiae briefs, joint appendices and special masters
beginning in January 1979, with selected coverage from 1936. All briefs for
cases granted cert. begins after 1993. Also includes all briefs for cases
petitioning for cert. after 2001.
Autobiographies/Biographies
- American National Biography
- Search Library Catalog by author’s last name, or by office held (e.g. United States President)
- Collective biographies have Biography has part of the subject heading. Combine with terms that describe the person class, race, or profession
- Other sources
Current News (1990-present)
- LexisNexis Academic (newpaper articles and media transcripts)
- Ethnic NewsWatch (articles from the ethnic and minority press in the U.S.)
- Vanderbilt Television News Archives (1968- )
Clips of TV news broadcasts from the major networks. Most material is loaned for 30 days; selected material available online
Historical News
- New York Times Online (1851-2002)
- Ethnic NewsWatch (1960- )
- America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-1876)
Other news sources
AP Image file
Archives of Associated Press photos from 1840-
Page Created & Maintained by: Mary Jane Walsh | Last Updated: May 27, 2010 | © 2009
Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300