Colgate University | Moodle | My Colgate | Colgate Gmail | Click to go Libraries' Twitter

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

In March 2008 Colgate joined the Center for Research Libraries. The CRL makes available approximately five million publications, archives, and collections and one million digital resources to its member libraries to supplement their own humanities, science, and social science holdings. CRL materials can be obtained for extended loan periods. Students and faculty are likely to find something on almost every topic. For a collection overview click here.

CRL resources include:
  • Area Studies: major microform and paper collections from Africa, Latin America, Middle East, Europe, Asia, Southeast Asia, and many other areas. Search Topic Guides.
  • 6,500+ international newspapers, many dating to the 1700s. Search newspapers.
  • 4,500+ U.S. newspapers, many dating to the colonial era, including 2,000 ethnic titles. Browse U.S. Ethnic Newspapers.
  • Foreign journals rarely held in U.S. libraries.
  • More than 800,000 dissertations. Search dissertations.
  • Major microformresearch collections.
  • Monographs Pre-1951.
  • U.S. State documents.
  • Pre-1996 foreign official gazettes.
  • International bank publications.
  • College and university catalogs.

How do I find and borrow CRL material?

Records for CRL material have been loaded into the ConnectNY catalog. With a keyword search you can limit your search by location "CRL". Request material as you normally would through ConnectNY unless you want certain reels in a microfilm or newspaper collection. Request these types of items through interlibrary loan and use the free text option to note "CRL collection" and identify the years or reels desired.

How long does it take?

CRL print or microfilmed materials can be obtained for extended loan periods (3 months with renewals) and at no cost to Colgate faculty and students. In FY2011, 92 percent of the CRL’s interlibrary loan requests were sent by two-day express within one business day, and 90 percent of copies were delivered within one business day as well.

Questions about CRL?

If you have any general questions about CRL, please ask a reference librarian or talk to the librarian faculty liaison for your academic department or program. Librarians, senior thesis students, or faculty beginning new research projects may also consult CRL's User Services Librarian about resources and collections.

 

Page Created Emily Hutton-Hughes & Maintained by: Mike Poulin, Head of Collection Management | Last Updated: August 26, 2014 | © 2009

Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300