| LIBRARY HOME | BOOKS | ARTICLES | DATABASES A-Z | ONLINE REFERENCE SHELF | CLASS & SUBJECT GUIDES |
|
|
|||||
In March 2008 Colgate joined the Center for Research Libraries which is a consortium of North American universities, colleges and independent research libraries. CRL makes available more than four million publications, archives and collections to its member libraries to supplement their own humanities, social science and science holdings. Scholarly materials from CRL's centralized collections can be obtained for extended loan periods and at no cost by users affiliated with member libraries.
6,500 international newspapers, many dating to the 1700s--the largest collection of circulating newspapers in North America.
4,500 U.S. newspapers, many dating to the colonial era, including 2,000 ethnic titles
Foreign journals that are rarely held in U.S. libraries
More than 800,000 foreign dissertations
Area Studies - Major microform and paper collections from Africa, Latin America, Middle East, Europe, Asia, Southeast Asia and more.
A growing collection of online digital collections including a collection of 19th century manuscripts relating to slavery and manumission in Timbuktu, pamphelts and periodicals from the French Revolution of 1848, and a large Digital South Asia Library.
For a broad overview of CRL's collections, consult their Topic Guides or view collection highlights.
Records for CRL material have been loaded into the ConnectNY catalog. After doing a keyword search you can use the "modify search button" to limit your search by location "CRL". Request material as you normally would through ConnectNY unless you want certain reels in a microfilm or newspaper collection. Request these types of items through interlibrary loan using the free text option to note "CRL collection" and identify the years or reels desired.
You may also use the CRL search engine where you can limit a keyword search by serials, newspapers, dissertations, or e-resources.
CRL print or microfilmed materials can be obtained for extended loan periods (3 months with renewals) and at no cost to Colgate faculty and students. Most requests are sent within two or three business days. Material in their digital collection is of course available 24/7.
If you have any general questions about CRL, please ask a reference librarian or talk to the librarian liaison for your academic department or program.
Librarians, graduate students who are beginning dissertation work, or faculty beginning new research projects may also consult CRL's User Services Librarian about resources and collections. Contact Mary Wilke for this information